What's For Breakfast?

On our walk this morning I photographed the usual suspects; a couple of vultures, a squirrel and some, just opened, cute little flowers. Then I spotted this Great Egret. It was totally out of its 'normal' hunting grounds and probably winged its way over to our neighborhood from Lake Kanapaha, which is on the northern boundary of Kanapaha Botanical Gardens. I'd not seen one actually 'on the hunt' in people's yards though. This one pretty much ignored Fletch and I as we moved closer and closer. It was very focused on what it was doing and didn't even glance at us as I took photo after photo of the drama that ensued. The large bird captured and consumed six, yes six!, brown anoles within minutes. I felt sorry for the anoles but fought the inclination to play 'goddess'. I'm glad that I had my longer lens on board this morning. Do take a look at the collage in my *extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.