This is the day

By wrencottage

Poignant

Poignant (adj.) – Evoking a keen sense of sadness or regret … from Old French "poignant" – sharp, pointed

My elderly food processor’s lid broke just before Christmas, without which the machine will not work. I have for some time been trying to buy a replacement lid, to no avail, so there was nothing for it but to order another machine. The (very swish) replacement came today, and it’s a mighty beast. I can’t wait to start using it. First of all, though, we took all the components out of the box and (carefully) washed each part, taking great care because all the cutting discs and knives are absolutely razor sharp.

Before that, I spent some time today typesetting the service sheet for the service of thanksgiving for our friend who died, aged only 58, in the week before Christmas. I struggled at times to type the words through tear-filled eyes. Poignant indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.