Abstract Thursday: Christmas at Gibside

This evening we went to see this year's illuminations at Gibside - a National Trust site just west of Gateshead. (We went to the equivalent show there 2 years ago, a few days before Christmas: this year's was very different but still very effective.)

I've chosen the main blip to fit with Ingeborg's Abstract Thursday challenge. I guess I could stretch it a bit and claim that it even fits her theme of "Out with the Old, in with the New" - as the very modern lights are set in front of an old tree and partly obscuring it.

I still seem to have 9 extras still to use in the next 3 days so I'll add some more. The first is the entrance to the display, the second is a big "snowflake", the third is the old orangerie with oil lights burning in front of it, and the 4th is the beautifully illuminated chapel. Finally there's another abstract - an accidental ICM shot taken on my phone!

As you'll realise, we had a great time - and it wasn't too busy either, it was probably a good idea to go after Christmas rather than before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.