Living my dream

By Mima

Cowshed

This amazing building is the state of the art cowshed in which G’s dairy herd is milked once a day, and from which I can fill my little churn whenever I want.

Just behind my car are the two tanks which hold the milk at a cold temperature until the tanker arrives to take it off to the factory to be dried or bottled (in plastic - grr).

Immediately behind the bonnet of the car is the tap which I have to turn verrrry carefully to fill my churn. Too enthusiastic and I would create a fire-hose-like blast of milk shooting across the yards. The pressure is impressive.

The extra shows the yards outside the shed where the cows gather before and after their downloads.

I collected 5 litres today. It is a drop in the ocean.

Harvests today:
2.2kg raspberries;
3 cauliflowers;
Broad beans for 10 people;
Peas for 8 people;
Sugarsnap peas for 1 dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.