Sebulon

By sebrose

Wet

I’m up early to get over to Earlston. It’s been raining heavily overnight - an Amber warning from the Met Office still in force. In my wellies I wade through deep puddles.

I hardly get above 40 mph on the way over - there are just too many places where the road isn’t draining properly - but I arrive without incident. And then it’s into Kerry’s car for a morning of cake deliveries.

Edinburgh isn’t as wet as the Borders, but there’s still a huge lake of water to get through under the Musselburgh rail bridge. We get slightly damp delivering the cakes in Porty, but by the time we drop the final load at Jeffries Street the rain has stopped.

Back in Porty we walk the prom and then install ourselves at the tapas restaurant (extra). Ailsa arrives on time. Family Bannerman are delayed en route, arriving just after 2, by which time I have finished my first glass of wine and am definitely looking forward to food.

The menu is excellent and the chef/proprietor is in a jovial mood. He offers us morcillo de Burgos which isn’t on the menu, and Stuart orders up plenty of other raciones. The crispy aubergine strips with honey and orange are particularly nice.

The party breaks up. We drop in on Vicky and Rock for a cup of tea/gin and tonic (extra). And then it’s back to Earlston for lentil soup and bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.