Corvids

I had a blustery walk round part of the former Westings Meadow this afternoon, including an area of worked out gravel pits that Langdyke Trust is hoping to purchase in 2023. 

There was very little wildlife around - I suspect that most of the birds were hunkering down out of the wind, though it has been a pretty poor year so far for wintering species. I didn't see or hear a single Redwing or Fieldfare, and there were only a very small number of Wigeon, Tufted Duck and Mallard on the lakes, along with a couple of Little Grebes.

The setting sun was quite moody, helped by shower clouds which just caught me. I sat in the car for a while as the sun set, hoping to get a view of the conjunction between the Moon and Jupiter, as well as some of the other planets, but eventually gave up as there was too much cloud, and I couldn't really get a clear view of the western horizon. 

Just before I left, a flurry of cars coming through the level crossing  at Helpston disturbed a flock of corvids which had been feeding on a field of winter wheat. Suddenly the sky was full of Rooks and Jackdaws, wheeling in the wind. I just managed to catch a few shots with my phone before they disappeared off to their night-time roost. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.