Passing a milestone

Two years of daily blips.

It feels appropriate to end the year with a photo of a physical milestone, just like I did back at my 100th blip. In mono, because that’s what the light was asking for today.

This second year feels much more like a graduation than the first did. 2021 was easy; working from home, my daily lunch walks made it easy to find new subjects to photograph. ‘22 was much more repetitive. Same route to work, same walk to the same little bakery for their (always excellent) soups, same route back home…

… and yet, I keep finding beauty around me in places I’ve already seen a thousand times or more. The shifting seasons, the variations in daylight, the different weather conditions… Other photographers talk about reading the light, and I think I am finally starting to understand it.

2022 was also the year that I finally started shooting on fully-manual settings. Just like that, from one day to the next. Never looked back. I really was ready for it, and totally blind to how much I was fighting my camera’s automations.

Here’s to 2023, whatever it may bring. I hope I will feel the same about ‘23 as I do now about ‘22. Continuously improving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.