roomitchell

By roomitchell

First time lessons learned

Pretty appalled by my Etape Caledonia statistics:

Race number 1501 Andrew Mitchell
Sprint time 1 min 59 seconds (1km Scott Sprint)
King of the Mountain time 12 minutes 53 seconds (2.1km category 4 climb)
Total time 6 hours 17 minutes 49 seconds.

My excuses? Three hours sleep the night before (I'm cursed by insomnia most nights); and three punctures along the way. I made the major error of not being dressed appropriately too. Despite the forecast being good, I should have had long trousers on and full gloves. Instead I was in thin Lycra shorts and fingerless gloves. It was bloody freezing, wet and windy! I had all these things packed with me. No excuses!

Not sure I will do another competitive race again given that performance. However it was my first ever thing like this, hence the title "First time lessons learned". Would do many things differently next time!

On a MUCH more positive statistical note; I was the 4th highest fund raiser out of 1,100 people collecting for Marie Curie Cancer Care. £2,812.50 raised and counting. The donation page is still open for a while if anyone wants to help push me over the £3k mark:

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/roomitchell

p.s. a slight Blipfoto rule break. This picture wasn't taken by me obviously! But I gave artistic direction, so can claim copyright.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.