Once a book seller, always a book seller....

Last New Year's Day I gave you my top ten reads from the previous 12 months and as many of you said you enjoyed having some recommendations, I thought I would share once more. I've read 70 books this year and these are my top ten, in no particular order. 

The Secret Life of Albert Entwhistle

Albert, 64, is a man who keeps himself to himself and is due to retire from his job as a postman and doesn’t know what he will do without work. He starts to reveal more about himself to those around him and in particular a secret he has kept hidden for decades. Being honest about himself starts to change his life, in a positive way.

The Funny Thing about Norman Foreman

Norman, 12,  and his best friend Jax, are inseparable and have decided to become comedians and will perform at the Edinburgh Festival when they are 15. Then Jax dies and Norman’s world falls apart. His Mum Sadie comes up with a plan to bring back her son’s joie de vivre involving a tribute show to Jax and also finding Norman’s Dad. They go on a fascinating journey to try to achieve these two goals.  

Deconstructed by Liz Talley

Cricket runs an antique/vintage store and one day overhears some information that sends her seemingly perfect life into a spin. Ruby works for Cricket and is trying to make good from a mistake in her past. Together they get involved in a bit of informal PI work to understand more about the situation Cricket has uncovered with sometimes hilarious, sometimes serious consequences. An easy and very enjoyable read and I’ve subsequently enjoyed the follow up too.

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

Elizabeth Zott is a chemist in the 60s, one of few women in a very male environment. When life changes occur she needs to find another direction and finds herself at the helm of a cookery show where she manages to turn her scientific knowledge to good use educating the women of America in more than just how to prepare dinner. This is being made into a TV series.

Still Life by Sarah Winman

Sarah came into my bookshop when she saw her first book "When God was a Rabbit" in my window. She was delighted to see her book in a bookshop window and I was delighted to meet the author as I had read an advance copy of the book and had adored it .I found it difficult to get into this novel, "Still Life", for the first third but as I know her work I persevered. I was glad I did as I adored the second two thirds. When the setting moved to Florence I was gripped and so much so,  I will go back and read the first third again at some point.
Ulysses and Evelyn meet during the war and never forget each other. This book follows their lives and how close they come to meeting once more. The coverage of the flood of Florence was detailed and shocking and educated me in an event I had never previously read about. 

Death and Croissants by Ian Moore

I’ve always enjoyed crime with a bit of comedy and this fits the bill. Richard has a B&B in the Loire Valley, he keeps chickens and has a love of old films. He enjoys his quiet life until one of his guests disappears and another guest convinces him to help investigate the murder. There are a few interesting characters in the town who we get to meet including an ex-pat pair of “swingers” who run a B&B with an (ahem) difference. It’s a light and easy and a very enjoyable read. Book two “Death and Fromage” continues in a similar vein.

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman

This is supposedly about a bank robber who crashes a viewing of a flat but actually is about so much more. I don’t want to give anything away but it’s definitely in my top three of the year.
 
The Marlow Murder Club by Robert Thorogood.

Robert created the “Death in Paradise” TV series for the BBC and has written four novels about the characters in the TV series which are excellent. His new crime series is set in Marlow and features Judith Potts who overhears a murder being committed in the garden of another house and takes it upon herself to try to solve it.

National Geographic Magazine

I’ve put this in my list as I have a monthly subscription and the amount of fascinating reading in it, for the cost, never ceases to amaze me. It’s so educational too, right now I am reading all about the contents of Tutankhamen’s tomb and this edition has reawakened my love of Egyptian history. Then there’s the photography you see, also stimulating and inspirational. If you are ever struggling for a gift for someone have a think about a subscription to this magazine. It transports you across time and place.

Windswept and Interesting, an autobiography by Billy Connolly

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading about Billy’s life in his own words, you can almost hear him speaking it. I’d forgotten that he worked with Jerry Rafferty for a couple of years in the early days of his banjo playing. Great reading all the Glasgow references that brought back some memories for me and definitely some laugh out loud moments.

Hope there might be something in my list that tempts you. If there is then do let me know what you think after you've read it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.