Alignment #2 (Dad's Birthday)

Johnny Mathis - Misty

The sequence of events over the past few days seem to work together so well. Yesterday was Mother's Day and today is my father's birthday. Things are meant to be the way they're meant to be reassuringly positive and negative in some respects. Before I start getting too pretentious, as is my usual late night diatribe on selfish perspective, I'll nip it in the bud and just be straight.

The song choice for today is a standard that my Dad sings at a lot of his gigs. The first few bars always met with applause as he begins to be in his true element and expressive self. There are many old favourites that get people listening and he's been doing this for ages. I can list a tonne of songs but I suppose this one comes to mind for now. Even when performing in Japan, despite the language barrier, there was a form of communication that was immediately understood that he could do so easily. Music is the gift of life that he has dedicated himself to. Hopefully I can carry that on somehow, although I can never match the lofty heights.

He's going to mix and master his new material tomorrow and it's going to be a blast I'm sure. Cheers, Dad.

Today was, as was yesterday, an excellent day. A great Japanese lesson, going back to old haunts, meeting a newly born child of a friend and catching up with a close friend. Keeping things simple, clean can help with the everyday. Changing perspectives and re-aligning things for the new day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.