Dash

This morning A, Django and I went to Broughton, where the "Greenmantle Dash" was taking place. This year Penicuik Harriers has taken over the organisation of the event (3.2km, 200m) and I had various tasks allocated to me on J's spreadsheet. After collecting the prizes from the village shop, I was one of two marshals for the road crossing just after the start of the race. In the meantime, I took the opportunity to look at the race's celebrated stream crossing (pictured). From there, it continues up to the summit of the first hill, and then straight back down to a minor road leading to the finish beside Broughton village hall. It was on this road that I had my second marshalling job. As is often the case, in practice this consisted of giving encouragement to the runners as they entered the final 100m. I was there a long time, as one participant took ages to reach the summit due to suffering an attack of vertigo! I was joined by A and Django just as the last two runners and the "sweeper" reached me, and we followed them back to the hall. There we spent a pleasant half hour mingling, before driving back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.