SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Running

Today the Harriers put on the Greenmantle Dash in Broughton (Borders). When the race organiser drove over, there was a "Road closed" sign on the main road used by half of the participants. She identified that it related to an incident last night and could be ignored, but she asked me to stop at the sign and tell anyone who was in doubt. Fortunately, just as I arrived, a policewoman was removing it. Hence I arrived in plenty of time for my marshalling job, so could chat with a few folk that I know. 

One subject of conversation was the death of Ed Catmuir, whom I knew by sight and reputation as a young member of the ex-Oxford orienteering club. 

The race begins at the Greenmantle Brewery, and soon crosses the main road. That's where I was coordinating two marshals who stop the traffic - well, politely ask if people wouldn't mind waiting - with the rave starter. After that, the course soon crosses this field so, before the race, folk were checking it out. The route climbs 200m to the top of the first hill in the picture - that is much steeper than it looks! - and then drops straight back down to a lane and finishes by the village hall. That's where I was hanging out until the prize-giving.

Back home, I was inspired to go out for a run, partly because I ought to get out more if I'm to continue at all, and partly because I'm running a leg of the Devil's Burdens relay in a month's time, and we've got a (otherwise) competitive M50 team. After 5.5km I'd done enough, happy at having managed the third km in 4:29, so walked home. 

Afterwards, I started on the Lego build that A and K bought me for Christmas. It'll take a while...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.