KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Boy in the woods

Lovely light today,
two walks and lower river!
"Think something happy!"

Gorgeous day today, although it's a bit of a funny one because older teen and Mr KCNQ2Haiku are back into the routine tomorrow, so today feels a bit "Sunday-ish".
Ben is still off until next Tuesday though! Not sure how he swung that - although he didn't finish until the afternoon of the 22nd, so I suppose it's fair! 
Mr KCNQ2Haiku went to the cinema this afternoon so it was just Ben and I in the woods, I was wittering on about how lovely the light was and I actually had my proper camera with me, so I did the thing you do and stood Ben in a patch of light and asked him to think of something lovely.  "Leo!" He shouted and gave me this smile.  That'll do.
My daily 'high water' report was rather disappointing as the river level was much lower today, it does mean I'm less worried about Ben falling in, although as Mr KCNQ2Haiku has pointed out, the height of the river is not related to Ben tripping or slipping on the bank.  Still though.. he's a risk!
We've been clearing cupboards out this afternoon which takes longer than you think and leaves more of the messy piles for charity shops/tip etc.  So I do feel a bit 2 steps forwards and 3 back..
Also we made a sweet potato curry which Ben helped with.  He was chopping the ginger when Grandma rang.  I wanted to catch her call as we were trying to arrange her visiting this week and I wanted to coordinate with a dental appointment for me, so I picked up my phone quickly, instructed Ben to keep the knife on the chopping board and popped into the other room for a 20 second conversation.  I returned to find Ben with his head under the kitchen tap :-/  On further investigation he had eaten a chunk of raw ginger, as "it smelled nice"...  but his mouth was then rather fiery!  Sigh.  You can't win them all.
Good luck to all those going back to the coal face tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.