Contrasts

From a churning sea under grey skies yesterday to a day of wall to wall sunshine (as enjoyed also across much of the rest of the UK) today. We took the longer walk via The Plaids (no idea why they are so called) and I came back with a sufficient harvest of photos that I was unable to resist using a few of my new bunch of extras. In particular, please note the extraordinary frost on the lid of the bin this morning. It wasn't taken with a macro lens so isn't as good a picture as I would like, but it was a truly extraordinary sight. The main blip looks up the firth towards the bridge and the Sutherland hills behind. The other extras are, respectively, the River Tain as it winds through the golf course and Glenmorangie Distillery with Struie Hill behind.

Afterwards, we hunkered at home again, both busy with our respective tasks. I'm almost done with the editing work I've been doing. It's been great to have time to concentrate on this. Tomorrow I will check it once more and then send it to my co-author for any input he wants to give. And then I will make a list of what needs to be achieved by the end of this week before work starts again in earnest.

I've started a new book - one which L brought me, but which I have had my eye on for a while: Mazower, The Greek Revolution. The link is to an American edition, but it is the same cover as the one that L gave me (which had obviously been purchased in Greece), rather than the one on the Waterstones website, which is presumably the British version. Not sure what lies behind the difference. It's a large and serious book. It will take me some time. Meanwhile, I will continue reading fiction at night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.