Ready when You Are...

The list of dreaded chores has been tackled, while Spike waited.... 

I have to renew my driving license. Every five years I can't just do it online or by mail. I have to go into the DMV and take a 'knowledge test which is basically answering questions on the computer about the rules of the road, contained in a booklet which has changed little since I started driving. 

At the same time, I need to try and get a 'real ID' which will be necessary to board a plane. A passport will also work. But my passport expires next month.

I started with the easy one, the passport. Downloaded the application form, filled it out, twice as it turns out because I used blue ink instead of black the first time. Took the application, along with the old passport to the Kenwood post office where they take your picture and mail it to the passport office for processing. It cost $200 because I needed it to be expedited in order to have it in time to take to the DMV before my driving license expires on my birthday in March.

I love that post office. It is a one person office, yet they perform this  wonderful one stop service. I wasn't alone. There was a family just finishing up ahead of me, and the clerk told me she had 20 appointments for today. I didn't have an appointment but she said I didn't really need one for a renewal application.

Tomorrow I will look into the situation at the DMV. More forms to be filled out and appointments to be made. Unlike the Kenwood post office, I dread going to the DMV.

Another 'atmospheric river' is expected tonight with wind and up to 8 inches of rain. Conveniently, most of it happens at night.
I
 went out to pack up the artificial wreath on the front porch but have no idea what I did with the little mushroom carving that it replaced. 
The live wreath on the back wall is still surprisingly fresh so I took off the Christmas bow and left the wreath there.

The House of Representatives, now narrowly held by the Republicans, was unable to elect a speaker after much negotiating by Kevin McCarthy, who would sell his soul to be speaker but even that didn't work as he failed to win a majority vote in three ballots. This is the first time in 100 years that a speaker hasn't been elected on the first ballot and they adjourned for the day in a total stalemate. Not auspicious....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.