Peregrine Falcon on Light 99

I have, in the past, right here on this site, misidentified this bird as a hawk. Another walker set me straight (again): definitely a falcon. What I didn't notice until I got home is the disturbing sight of another pair of wings on the right side of the perch. Peregrines do hunt other birds.

There is so much wood washed up on all the beaches--huge logs littering the sand and bouncing around in the water. One of our bridges was closed for several hours while cranes removed the fallen trees that were battering the supports. Various creeks have overflowed, causing another set of problems. There are mudslides, trees down, and sinkholes. Another storm is expected Wednesday. We, ourselves, are safe and sound in our neighborhood, and we don't plan to go anywhere soon.

I made granola. I made soup. I made cornbread. We brought armloads of firewood and kindling up on the porch. We went to the grocery store, and stopped at the library and the knitting shop for supplies. I think we are as ready as we can be.

The Extra is It's Beach, a place where dogs are permitted to run free during certain hours. The driftwood is definitely too big to throw or chase: bring your own stick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.