Watch the Birdie

The girls gave me this lovely, quirky necklace at Christmas. Right up my street and very well chosen. I'm wearing it today because they're coming over for a few hours. Their dad is back at work and their mum is going to take the opportunity to de-Christmas the house before she's back too. The seven year old doesn't return to school till Monday.

Really enjoyed yesterday's lunch. There were 11 of us. Four soups, four puddings and a cheeseboard. Marvellous.

It's a mild day. Soggy but no longer icy underfoot. I've been out with Flora and saw three female goosanders on the river. I've been spotting the males for weeks. I hope we'll get chicks again this year. Other than that one robin, one chaffinch and a few blackbirds. I think my wooden birdie triumphs today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.