NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Wet Wednesday

It really has been a wet Wednesday!

I slept later than usual this morning after not getting to sleep until about 1am. I needed it. My burnt foot has been very painful today. I have swore a lot at my foot and been incredibly grumpy. I phoned up to arrange a practice nurse appointment to have the dressing changed tomorrow. 

I am struggling with putting weight on it so getting into the surgery tomorrow will be quite a challenge. I’ve asked a friend if he can give me a hand walking as I will have to go by bus and foot. I’m hoping he is free tomorrow, I’ve texted him. If not, I will brave it alone. I’m hoping it will stay dry tomorrow. I’m also putting too much of my weight on my left hip and lower back due to hobbling which is not pleasing my fibromyalgia. The torrential rain hasn’t helped. I asked a friend to order a foldable, adjustable walking stick online (as they have Amazon Prime, I rarely buy anything online) which will hopefully arrive before I leave for my practice nurse appointment tomorrow. I’m going to ask my physio if she can get me a stick or crutches going forward for my fibro.

I am so fed up of this wet weather. There have been many local businesses who have lost a lot of stock and have had major clean up operations to face since last week’s flooding - it’s apparently the worst the town has had in forty years. I certainly can’t remember it ever being as bad as it has been this past week. 

I have had issues in the past getting to and from work, especially as I always relied on public transport and the Council would create temporary bus stops - this is still the case. They weren’t very good at communicating where the temporary ones were though! Social media has improved that a little over the years.

I slept for a couple of hours this afternoon, the meds have zonked me out and I have been taking paracetamol for the burn too. I hate taking tablets. I’m getting my fibro meds adjusted again over the next couple of days as well. My asthma is not happy with either my fibro meds or this damp weather.

I had to rearrange a couple of health appointments scheduled for tomorrow which I’ve had in my diary for over a month. I’m not happy about it but have to make my foot the priority for now. I’ve also caught up with emails and Blip and did my usual daily German Duolingo lesson. I managed three lessons today and a score of 93%. I find studying anything a good pain distraction.

After much consideration, I have joined the Labour Party. I voted for them when I was in my late teens and early Twenties before voting Liberal Democrat for many years. I have made an appointment to speak to my local Labour MSP. I have consulted him before.

I want to discuss a number of issues with him around access to Out of Hours health care, the NHS crisis and raising a question in both the Scottish Parliament and Westminster around fibromyalgia being recognised as a disability.

He has a close family member with fibromyalgia and, like myself, is a former teacher. He is also a strong supporter of animal rights. He has been incredibly helpful with matters I have brought to him in the past. As much as my health allows, I would like to get more involved in politics in the future. I have a lot of ideas for change.

I went through a phase of cynicism about politics and politicians but if everyone moans and takes no action, nothing will ever change.

I don’t enter into arguments about politics or religion. All I will say is that I am not a supporter of the SNP - I could write a whole blog on my reasons why. I don’t believe in independence or any type of nationalism.

I hope you have all had a wonderful Wednesday and that it has been less wet where you are.

Today’s Blip is of my easy dinner - zapped some frozen microwaveable jacket potatoes and sprinkled some pre-grated cheese over the top with some salad cream - I’m addicted to salad cream!

Thanks for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts. You are all so refreshingly supportive and positive :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.