NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Fed Up Thursday

I didn’t make it to the practice nurse appointment. My friend had to work at short notice so was unable to help me into the surgery - I told him not to worry, he has to earn a crust.

I rang up this morning and explained my predicament - that I can hardly put any weight on my right foot with the burn. 

I got a complete bleepety bleep of a receptionist (sorry to to any compassionate medical receptionists out there, I just haven’t encountered you yet and I was at one time a Medical Secretary with the NHS myself and never spoke to patients in such a passive aggressive manner, even in chronic pain).

I said to her, I can’t make my afternoon appointment for the dressing change. I explained the district nurse had said on Tuesday it needed redressed and I would need a burns cream prescription from the practice nurse. Her response - “Can you not have a stab at changing it  yerself?” There were 17 people in the queue before me and I hung up and tried half an hour later and there were 4 people ahead of me in the queue.

I told her I wasn’t really happy dressing my own wounds as I didn’t have the sufficient equipment, only what I had bought myself (dressings, Savlon and antiseptic spray) and that given I have fibromyalgia and joint hypermobility syndrome, it would present a physical challenge. I reiterated that the district nurse had said I need a prescription for burns cream. 

She then went on to tell me they were understaffed. I appreciate that. She said there were no district nurses available. I ended up asking for an appointment tomorrow to which she replied, “Well, you can’t be that immobile then!” Where the bleep do they recruit these people? I’m in agony. I am in agony every single day of my life. My foot is causing me further agony. It’s torrential rain here again. I am bleeping raging. I hope I manage in tomorrow.

Do I not deserve better than this? I think we all do. They talk to you like absolute you know what and then get pissy when you answer them back politely, even though you want to tell them to go take a good bleep to themselves.

Let’s hope my foot is less sore tomorrow. The forecast is to be dry and another friend has offered to help me get on and off the bus and in and out of the surgery. I have a telephone appointment on Monday with my GP (her first day back from Annual Leave) and will be getting all my repeat prescriptions and changing practice. Should have done it years ago. It will likely make no frigging difference but it will at least lower my blood pressure.

I have also had to reschedule two important health appointments I had scheduled today, both of which been in my diary for five weeks.

As soon as possible, I am moving out of this town. I might even move to another region. I need a fresh start.

One plus - the walking stick a friend kindly ordered me online yesterday arrived late this afternoon so at least I will be better at hobbling into the appointment tomorrow, all being well. My left hip is not happy bearing most of my weight. I’m going to ask my physio for a stick and/or crutches at my next appointment.

I had homemade Macaroni Cheese for dinner this evening (extra). I got 91% at Duolingo German today - lower than my average. I was informed today on here that I had accidentally posted the same photo of my 93% score on the 3rd and 4th of January as extras - it was actually 92% yesterday. Not that I think it matters or anyone gives two figs but it must have bugged the gentleman who flagged it up enough to bring it to my attention! Too shattered to give a toss to be quite frank but wanted to assure anyone who may doubt my scores that I am neither a liar nor someone who misleads people about my achievements. 

I do Duolingo to build up my self-esteem, because I love the German language, as a pain distraction tool and to fight off the fibro fog. I did a bit of French today too, just for a wee change. I find learning calms me down when I’m pissed off.

Sorry for the whingey, rant but today can feck off. Away back to bed with my painkillers to watch some comedy.

I hope every day that I recover soon and can post something more cheerful, including better photos!

I hope you’ve all had a better Thursday :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.