That's Christmas Wrapped Up!

Started taking down the outside lights late afternoon. It soon turned dark so leaving the Cherry Tree until tomorrow as it needs the ladder, and light to see the convoluted routes of the wires. There is also the big balls to come down from the tree.
Must admit I miss looking out of the window and seeing the lights. We still have the lights on in the back garden, they aren't for Christmas, they are all year round.
Christmas, or more correctly Boxing Day, always reminds me of the one and only time I was doing 'Jankers' (Restrictions as a result of being charged). I was awarded 7 days jankers over the Christmas week. The previous year, 1966, I volunteered to work as I'd only just come out of training in the May. So 1967 my parents were expecting me home, I had to phone a neighbour to let them know I wasn't going to make it.
On Boxing Day the Orderly Officer came into the guardroom where 3 or 4 of us were stood on parade, in fatigues (working clothes, like overalls) and he said to us "Right, Christmas was yesterday. Corporal, give these men the worst job you can think of to keep them busy for the next two hours". We were sent to the Airmens mess to clean pots, pans, and generally clean the kitchens.
And my great offence  to get 7 days punishment? Out of Bounds in the WRAF Block! It only happened once. Well, I only got caught once anyway! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.