Kelvingrove

We had promised ourselves a trip to Kelvingrove Art Galleries over the holidays and today we fulfilled our promise. 

We travelled into Glasgow in the morning, and had a look around downstairs, especially the animal section, with lots of information on animals both present and extinct.  

And we met up with my blip buddy Elspeth Anne, and had a nice though brief chat.  It was lovely to see her again, and not looking a day older than when I last met her.  I regret that I forgot to take a picture of us.

We had some lunch, and then listened to the 1pm organ recital which was by an American guest today, and very enjoyable.

I had a good browse of the Scottish Paintings, while Bob had a bit of a rest, and I had a look around the Art Discovery section too, and especially enjoyed the photographs of the Queens Park Camera Club who have documented the city of Glasgow for many years, and have a super record of its changing times.

I used to spend quite a few rainy Sundays in this museum, and have always been fond of it.  The building itself is awesome, and the exhibits wonderful.  I am especially fond of 'Motherless' is has such passion and is so beautifully sculpted.  

I took several photographs of the Heads; I am not quite sure what they are depicting, but I like them, and at the shop which I visited before leaving they had snow globes with a head..... I couldn't resist although Bob thought them a bit macabre..... they will be out next Christmas with the rest of my snow globes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.