danger of death

Joanna came round this morning and kindly brought me some flour so that I can continue making bread while the driveway continues to be impassable to smaller vehicles. It’s going to be fixed this weekend, fingers crossed.

When she left, D and I spent a happy hour taking it in turns to poke the woodpile, a dangerous and very sweaty occupation. This is wood (mostly sycamore) which was cut and stacked about 5 years ago and I think it must have been Sarah who climbed up nimbly to stack it almost up to the rooftop (about 15 feet). So today we were poking the edges with a very long plank to try to precipitate a controlled avalanche, while not being buried underneath.!

After all that exertion, I needed some lunch and then a rainy walk across the fields to cool off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.