The New Pizza Stone

Way back in July, my son and granddaughter gave Mr S a very fine pizza stone for his birthday. I was a couple days out of the hospital, and no one was going to be making pizza anytime soon, but I didn't think it would be six months before we worked up enough nerve to try it!  The sticking point was having to use a peel to transfer the dough to the hot stone, but it worked like a charm. The design of the stone yields a nice crisp crust and I think I'm safe in saying it's the best pizza we've ever made! (fig jam, carmelized onions, mozzarella, prosciutto, and arugula, in case you're asking...) 

On the weather front, more dire stories abound: the expected announcements of mudslides, sinkholes, downed trees and flooding. Beaches closed. Wharves damaged. Villages flooded. They are asking people to stay away from the very place I stood yesterday to make that photo. We've had a break for a few hours, although they say another round is on its way. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.