RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

The depleted tile delivery (minus the tiles that aren't suitable for a wetroom) was due sometime today, no idea when. I cycled to the house as soon as it was beginning to be light at 7.45 to clear a safe carrying path from the car park behind the garden (through which I have negotiated access, incredibly luckily) to the pallets in the garden where I offloaded the last tile delivery. Space is at a premium on this site and inevitably the builders have used some of it in the meantime so at the car-park end I had to clear a whole lot of rubble and wood waiting for disposal and at the tile-pallet end I had to move lots of plastic sheeting and a few breeze blocks. All done and the 'Track my delivery' notice was still saying that my consignment had arrived at the depot at 06.33 this morning.

Before heading off I watched the builders amusing themselves in the void in the front room attaching insulation above their heads to the floor joists (luckily it is an unusually deep void - the rounded form you can see towards the front of this picture is a human being). I'm glad they can have a laugh - they work incredibly hard.

I've had huge difficulties trying to find a bath that meets my criteria and a few days ago went on to my preferred manufacturer's website. To my surprise, one of their suppliers is a small kitchen and bathroom place a few minutes walk from my house. I've walked past it loads of times and never been in as I'd assumed their mark-up would be hefty. But today was the day. Although I was covered in mud from the building site and was hiding my cough behind a mask, they welcomed me in, were able to quote me on exactly what I wanted, gave me exactly the same advice about one of the options as my trusted site foreman had given me, offered me a price that seemed fair, said they could deliver at three days notice and said that they wouldn't charge for delivery as my house is so close. Win!

At the end of this the 'Track my delivery' notice was still saying that my consignment had arrived at the depot at 06.33 this morning so I cycled back to my garret. I tried to rest but set my alarm to wake me every 20 minutes so I could track my delivery. When it said it had been put on a van at 14:23 but with no hint of when it would arrive it was a real effort to force myself out. Delivery drivers don't read the instructions I send them so are flummoxed when they find the address they are delivering to is a car park not a front door. I didn't want the driver turning round and not delivering so I sat on a wall in the street keeping a look out. Luckily it was only 45 minutes and I didn't have a huge amount of new debris to clear from the path I'd cleared this morning. 

Before leaving, I went to look at the shiny insulation in the front room and was astounded that it was all covered by the base for the underfloor heating. An absolute transformation. I'll post that picture tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.