Painful

The first run after more than a few weeks off is always hard, but it was more painful watching Bonnyrigg Rose's first half performance at home to the (erstwhile) bottom club in Scottish League 2. It was 3-0 to Albion Rovers at halftime, and the Rose players didn't get a great reception when they trooped off (pictured). I almost left then, as I was a bit cold, having only brought just enough to wear, since I'd have to stuff it away when running home. Rose made three changes at half-time, and another two after 62 minutes, and the second half performance was better. A late penalty to Albion rounded off the 4-0 scoreline, pushing Rose below Albion at the foot of the table (on goal difference). That said, such is the tightness of the 10-team league, Rose is only three points behind fifth. After the match, I warmed up a little by walking, then ran 8km in about 40 minutes - which wasn't too bad.

And, yes, the photo is properly horizontal: it's the pitch that slopes!

In the morning, I'd walked Django via seeing Mum. When I arrived she announced to me that, "I've only just got back... after being away for the weekend". I decided not to contradict her, so played along. She continued, "I was kept busy, and there was a musical event that was good, but I can't remember a thing about it now... a waste of time and money". After the story had been repeated a few times, she added, "Maybe I'm just imagining it!" More seriously, she asked whether I'd seen "Julian", correcting herself to "John". I explained again that Dad had died three years ago, but when she started to talk about more than one man visiting her, I wonder whether she's losing her ability to know who I am beyond someone who visits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.