Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Derelict...

One of the challenges I most enjoy is the Derelict Sunday challenge, hosted by Marlieske.  I live in a part of NJ with a lot of character so I never lack for things that fit the challenge.  This particular image is taken at one of my favorite "derelict" locations, St. Paul Abbey about 2 miles from where I live.  The old abbey is a beautiful stone structure that has been vacant for years, slowly sliding into an advanced state of disrepair.  The inside (which I've only seen in pictures) has been decimated by vandals and stripped of anything of value, sadly.  It was for sale last year but as far as I can tell, remains unsold.  Today I chose to focus on one small section of windows as I think they depict dereliction quite well.  I converted it to sepia mono in post - I will put the color version in Extra.

I think Hubs has turned the corner with Covid V.2 and is finally starting to feel better.  Thank goodness!  As for me, I feel fine.  

I had the most lovely experience this morning when I went out into the yard... I could hear the sound of geese overhead, but not the usual Canada geese.  Instead, there were hundreds of Snow Geese flying overhead in long skeins.  There is something about Snow Geese that I find completely enchanting so I just stood out there for about 5 minutes until they'd passed completely out of sight.  Magical.  Maybe tomorrow I'll take a drive around some of the nearby farm fields and see if I can spot where some have landed to feed - it's always hit or miss with them, but maybe I will get lucky. 

Dark with raspberries today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.