Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Look What We Saw!

On our walk this morning - a bald eagle was perched in a distant oak tree - we (well, I) saw it on our way out and it was still there on the way back. This is an iPhone shot zoomed as far as it would zoom. I don't carry my big camera anymore, because it's too much trouble, but there are certainly days when I wish I had it!

We've seen this eagle a couple of times before - usually soaring around and then disappearing. It's never sat still for a shot before. I think their numbers are just now starting to increase around here. The Tidewater area is so full of them they're having to spread out to find territories to call their own! I saw at least one juvenile a number of years ago, so they're clearly nesting in the neighborhood somewhere. But it's still a rare and exciting sight for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.