Flossmo

By Flossmo

Jewellery

If it's possible today, has been even more dull than yesterday. Lots of passing showers and strong winds made the idea of going out unpalatable so I got on with more chores. Today's job was a sort out and tidy up of my jewellery box.

I reunited all the loose earrings and put each pair in a small plastic bag, giving everything a good polish before putting it away. I soaked and scrubbed a gold necklace and bracelet and I even cleaned the jewellery box itself, inside and out.  

The photograph is a close up of a favourite earring. I say earring because I only have the one. The other one is, probably, still somewhere between the tracks at Waterloo Station. I was on my way to work some years ago, got off the train, moved near the edge of the adjacent platform, hoisted my rucksack onto my shoulder and watched as a spinning silver disc crossed in front of my face and over the platform edge, just as a train came in. I guess I caught the earring with the strap of the rucksack. Since then the lonely singleton has sat in the jewellery box. I occasionally have ideas of making it into something else but it never happens. Maybe one of these days...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.