Living my dream

By Mima

Progressing

The Camemberts are developing white mould skins nicely now, three weeks after I made them. Because I’m maturing them in the fridge, which is slightly cooler than the ideal temperature, I knew it would take a wee while for the mould to appear and it was a relief when I noticed it for the first time after 10 days.

Each day I turn them and keep an eye on progress. I like the patterns the cheese mat is making in the surface.

It will be at least two more weeks before there is enough mould for the wheels to be wrapped in special paper and left to mature for a further three weeks prior to tasting.

The latest cheddar was waxed today and is now maturing for five weeks or more…

All morning I was flattened by a migraine: a very unusual ailment for me. Chocolate may have been to blame. Fortunately I came good in time for a light lunch, but it has been a very quiet lazy day.

My voice continues to strengthen, but wobbles from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.