proutydwarflife

By proutydwarf

Going, Going....

....Gone :(

The demise of the Video Rental Store is an indictment on the frenetic pace of life we all lead these days....

Downloading, Streaming, file-sharing, music, TV, films...

When I was in my teens I loved nothing better than to browse the rack & shelves in the video store for a couple of films for the weekend....it was a treat, mates would come round it was an event. When a new film came out on video you would ring up to try and reserve it or get to the store quick in case all the copies were out....and you'd have to wait....! Our most sophisticated local (and of course independent) video shop was Tony Box, in Lydney....and he had VHS & Betamax lol.

Now you don't even need to rent anything physical at all.

I lament the passing of these special places....in this Blockbuster store they were packing everything away....cardboard boxes were piled high, most items left were marked down for quick sale....I felt quite sorrowful as I picked my way through a few last bargain bucket Blu-ray's....

Oh well....my 'Les Mis' Blu-ray should arrive from Amazon tomorrow....hey, the world does go on....

And yes....I do know I need to clean the car ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.