A fight in Eenum

On this somewhat boring grumpy Sunday, the day before everybody in my house has to go back to school, I decided to get out and leave all the grumpy ones behind for a while.
I asked Peter if he'd go drone-flying with me and of course he would.

Last Tuesday in Germany, we only flew one battery empty, so we both still had two charged ones in the bag. Better to fly them empty instead of the automatic discharging that would otherwise start in a few days. 

We looked for a location nearby, and soon we ended up in Eenum, a tiny village approx 7 km from Delfzijl with a nice tiny church as our subject. Perfect.

I parked my car halfway in a dead end street, near a wide open field. The light was great, clouds came and went and lit up the place every now and then in a beautiful glow.

All went well and quiet, until......

After about 20 minutes, a car parked up behind us and moments later another one came rushing near. Out of the first one an elderly couple came out. Their goal was a visit to the nearby cemetary.
Out of the second one however, came some huge weirdo with a strange look in his eyes. His goal was: us!

He barked at us what the hell we were doing? Out of nowhere he came: A huge all worked up guy, bald head and a pathetic red long sort of small beard coming out of his chin, probably covered in tattoos as well, followed by a short fat woman-ish thing.

Somehow he was focussed on me, probably because I was holding the just landed drone in my hand. I put everything in my trunk, and then turned to the man and said that it was obvious what we were doing. He then raged on that we were spying on them, over their home, taking pictures. All forbidden, and so on and on.
I told him, it wasn't forbidden. That we didn't know they were living in Eenum and that now that we do know we couldn't have been less interested in them. It was the church we were taking pictures of.

He got even angrier and told me that he would shoot the drone out of the sky next time. At that point I realized this really was a mad man, and the best thing to do was to get away asap.
I told him I had all the licenses needed for flying. He then said he would call the police right away. Well, let's do that I agreed, let's call them and solve this once and for all. You're the who's wrong here. A pointing finger at me and some sentences I already forgotten was what came back.
He stepped back in his blue-white mini cooper.

By that time Peter also had landed his drone, and we got in my car as well. Doors locked. But, our wild Viking blocked our way out. Remember we were on a dead end street.

He came rushing out again. I opened my window a bit and asked him if he could let us through. Nope, he wanted to see my licenses right away.
Nope I said, I don't have to justify myself to you. I will show them to the police, when they are here. If that's what you want, we'll wait for them, and I parked my car back to were it was just before. Viking went back in his mini too, consulting that woman-thing he was with, probably.

Peter and I realized we were actually being held hostage, by this lunatic. And that was unacceptable. Let's call the police.

I took my phone and while I was dialing, our Viking must have realized what we were up to. Suddenly he started his car and took off with 100 miles per hour. Vroommmm....further up into the dead end street. And gone he was. Peter and I looked at each other and Peter then spoke the very wise words: "Let's go home. Now!" 

It stopped my Sunday from being boring...... but I preferred my grumpy ones at home a lot more instead of this crazy fool in Eenum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.