Marionb

By Marionb

Keeping Track...

..of books read and discussed.

Having laughed together many times at book club meetings at how each of us struggle to remember book titles and names of authors of books we have read in the past, or ones that have been recently recommended to us, we all thought we should make an effort to at least keep a list! I have done that for a long time but then when referring back to the list, I sometimes cannot even remember what a book was about! Hmmm...so, maybe a list would not be enough? 

I thought a book club journal might be useful, so I gambled and ordered one for each of us for Christmas...This next book club meeting will show whether it was a good idea or not...

Today, filling out the book information, my thoughts about the book and actually rating it took some effort and some discomfort,  (I have never been good at rating things - you know a number between 0 an 5? Pain between 1-10? I hate doing that! ) but at least I will show up at the meeting better prepared for the discussion this time! 

I think it will also be helpful to fill in the ideas of others in the book club meeting "notes" section, and of course, the section at the back will be great for recording recommendations for personal reading and also for consideration for future book club selections  

I will be really interested to hear what the others think about using the journal - Is it helpful? Is it too much like "homework"? Whatever the response, it was worth a try...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.