’What a Difference Sixty Hours Makes’

It was only two days ago that the moon was full, but this morning, as I was making a cup of tea (or two) and waiting for the dawn before going for my early morning run, I couldn’t help noticing the craters now visible on its right-hand side as It began to wane.

So I decided to try for another (photographic) moonshot. By playing around with the exposure values, I found I could bring the moon into much clearer focus.

 (I don’t have a proper telephoto lens (just an only partially optical zoom), so I rely on a fair amount of cropping to bring the white moon - which would otherwise completely dazzle the automatic exposure - out of the sea of almost total blackness!)

I particularly noticed the giant crater on the top right edge. It’s the Mare Crisium - the Sea of Crises - and is some 350 miles across and around four billion years old!

It makes it look a bit like a giant eyeball, doesn't it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.