Life through the lens...

By ValC

Reasons to be cheerful.

Well I didn’t go back to bed ( as in the song by Ian Drury and the Blockheads) but I felt like it.
Such awful wet dark dismal weather.

However these beautiful bright tulips certainly cheered me up, and so will the wine. Later.

We had a great night yesterday.
I think the club is getting back to normal at last after the gap of two years due to Covid.
There were 24 there last night.

It was certainly a fun evening.
Jack, Gill, and Peter put on a great performance for Call My Bluff.
6 very good wines. Two white and four red.
I liked them all.
The first white was a Riesling. Each one told us about the wine, and where it came from. Country, region, producer, vineyard etc. We tasted the wine, and had to guess who was telling the truth.
The Riesling could have been from Canada, Australia, or Luxembourg.
I guessed Australia, but it was actually from Canada. That is the first time I have tasted a Riesling wine from that country, and it was very nice.
Next white was Chardonnay. I guessed that one correctly. The other suggestions were New Zealand, and Australia.
The first red was a Shiraz from Australia, and I thought a blend from South Africa, so got that wrong too.
Next red and I was the only person who got it right! It was a Malbec/ Cabernet Franc blend from Argentina. The rest thought either a Barbera d’ Alba from Italy, or a Pinotage from South Africa. Must say I felt quite chuffed!
I got the next two right as well, but however only came second along with three others.
The winner got 5 correct. Just happened to be Peters wife. She was adamant she didn’t know the answers. Well we had to believe her!

The third red I guessed correctly as a Rioja from Spain. It turned out to be one from Morrison’s which my sister had bought us fir Christmas and we haven’t drunk it yet.
( see photo)
It was exceptionally good, so I am looking forward to having it this weekend.

Hope you can also find something to be cheerful about today.

P.S. Hairy. Bikers Go Local. BBC2. Tomorrow, Wednesday, night 8pm. They are in West Yorkshire, and visit our local Indian restaurant, Prashad. We are looking forward to watching it. Thought some of you may be interested too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.