AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

come in number 5...

had to go to Edinburgh Airport this morning to pick up a young man with a strange name. Caylin is a grad student from the University of Southern Indiana who is coming on a six week internship to New Lanark. Made a change from cataloguing.

As it happens, this weeks challenge word is 'flight' so I thought I'd go a bit early and try and get some pics of planes taking off and landing, but I didn't realise there is nowhere in the public areas of the airport to actually look at any planes!! And it was bloomin freezing again!

However, I do find the control tower a very pleasing structure. I often imagine a muezzin up on the balcony calling the faithful to prayer. in fact the only people you are likely to see out there are the air traffic controllers having a quick fag!

info: cost: £11 million (!); height - equivalent to 12 double decker buses stacked on top of each other; number of hand installed zinc tiles: 9,216; steps to the top: 324 (I thought there'd be a lift!)

raining again. I might have to do some housework - oh - the sun has just come out. might get some planting done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.