Family gathering

This is a late posting.

Auckland was extremely lucky today, as it was protected from ex-Tropical Cyclone Hale by the Coromandel Peninsula.  However, the Coromandel Peninsula and the Gisborne/East Coast areas  were hit very badly, with some people having to evacuate and lots of homes left without power.  So sad, especially as they‘d already been hit hard earlier in the month.

We’d invited my brother and sister and their spouses for dinner tonight, so we spent a good part of the day preparing the food.  We had a lovely evening together, enjoying the food and reminiscing about Mum.  After our guests left MrMacD and I spent time clearing up (thank goodness for a dishwasher) before heading to bed.  It was a late night!

Unfortunately, I’m still behind with dipping into blip friends journals, which I really enjoy, but I’ll visit again soon.

This is Jamie’s Pear and Gingerbread Cake that I made for dessert tonight. On the first serving I put chocolate sauce and then custard, on the second serving I put custard then chocolate sauce.  I thought the second one looked better so that’s how the next four servings were done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.