Flossmo

By Flossmo

She said

It was a beautiful morning - everything was bright and freshly washed - as I walked to meet my friend J. We did an hour of reasonably fast walking, pounding the local streets. There never seems to be a time when there isn't at least one house on our route that is undergoing extensive renovation/extension, even in these days of higher interest rates and excruciating heating bills. Today was no exception with an already large, double-fronted house expanding further sideways. I always wonder, to what avail?

After we walked I continued on down the hill to The Maltings for this week's film: She Said. The film describes the investigation by the New York Times of Harvey Weinstein's relentless sexual misconduct. I can't say I enjoyed it, as it was difficult viewing at times, but it was very well produced with brilliant acting from Carey Mulligan and Zoe Kazan as Megan Twohey and Jodi Kantor, the two NY Times journalists, whose investigations brought Weinstein to book. I can only applaud their courage in pursuing Weinstein, who, at that time, was a very powerful person and their determination to leave no stone unturned in finding evidence of his crimes. The importance of their work cannot be over-estimated.

Before the film started I rang Mr Flossmo and suggested we meet at 1:15 in the Maltings cafe for a spot of lunch (and also so that I could get a ride back up the hill, home afterwards). Just before the film ended I could hear rain pounding on the roof and as I emerged into the daylight I could see grey skies and a sodden Mr Flossmo. We had a pleasant lunch and at least the rain had stopped as I splashed my way to the car. All in all a lucky call on my part.

The photograph is of an old advertisement on the side of a house next to The Maltings. Another wonderful piece of preserved local history. It was a good thing I took the photograph on the way in - it would have been against a grey sky on the way home.
      



     

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.