RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Order

At the site meeting a week ago the building manager asked me where I was with ordering the bathroom stuff. 
What, now? For delivery when?
Oh, next week will be fine.
Deep breath.

I have visited bathroom showrooms but even though they do supply the cheaper end of the market, they put on display only the upmarket goods, so I haven't been able to see a range I can choose from.

So I spent Friday, Saturday and Sunday looking at bathroom supply websites, reading reviews about the various suppliers' reliability and customer service, putting in endless filters so that I could choose from real possibilities and making a spreadsheet so I could compare and choose.

It turns out I have such strict criteria that my choice is actually quite limited: minimalist curves without sharp angles (easier to clean), no Victoriana, nothing that draws attention to itself and no dust-traps, but seeing a picture of something online, imagining it 3D, then trying to insert it into what I think my 3D bathroom might look like when it's built is a skill that is almost completely beyond me. 

I battled on. At least the measurements were online so I could work out whether things would fit.

I sent various questions to the builders and they replied, despite it being the weekend.
I learnt a lot about overflows and slotted drains, traps and the apparent oddity that 'valve' can mean anything at all. 
I could not find a bath anything close to my criteria.
I made as many decisions as I could and on Sunday night I emailed my list of choices to the architect, more out of politeness than expectation of a reply on Monday, or Tuesday, or...

Today, with no input from the architect, I put the orders in for everything except a bath. The first delivery will be tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.