Collaged Right Out of My Comfort Zone

The assignment was to pick five random photos from our camera roll and use them to make a collage. The first stumbling block is, of course, the selecting of the photos. Trying not to plan what you're going to do with them, just pick some already. I tried to get one with texture, one landscape, something with a figure, something with repetition, and I forget the other one. Then came my familiar problem: I have already seen these photos as complete compositions. How do I go about altering them? 

This image is the fourth iteration, and the boldest. I worked mainly in Procreate, then Snapseed, and a couple other apps for a few details. Waaay out of my comfort zone. At one point I decided to just do the weirdest thing I could think of and see what happened (the round thing, which is a bicycle wheel). I finally just had to stop. And in a strange way, I like the result.

(The assignment was from Karen Divine, in a Facebook group called Your Parts and Process. )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.