Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Wings

You probably wonder what this photograph of me, taken in 1964, has to do with the May HeartFreek Photo Challenge today for Wings - apart from the fact that my glasses look as if they have wings. No comments about Dame Edna Everage please - Mr HCB has already mentioned that!

I won First Prize and the shield for reciting Isaiah 6 verses 1-8 at the Girl Covenanter Rally in London - in that passage it mentions Seraphims, celestial beings having 3 pairs of wings - so thinking "outside the box" again I found this photograph - black and white, of course - no colour in those days - in an old album.

There is also another famous passage in Isaiah 40 v 31 which says :
Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. (NIV)


In 2002 I wrote a meditation on this passage whilst spending a week at The Harnhill Centre for Christian Healing, near Cirencester.

You will soar like an eagle
If you will only learn
to throw off your baggage.
You need to place your trust in me
and let me renew your strength;
And then.....
Up you will go.....
Higher and higher.....
Until you commune with me face to face.

You may feel weak
But I have the power,
So when we are together
My power overcomes your weakness.

Letting go of past hurts and wounds
Is not easy,
But when you do,
See how high you soar!
Trust me and let me take you to heights
You have never reached
and will never reach
without me.

Did I hear you say
You can't - or do you mean you won't?
Don't be afraid.....
I am here to catch you if you
f
a
l
l
and remember -
I HAVE THE POWER
You only need the trust.
Keep your eyes on me
and keep your ears tuned in
to my voice;
Do not be distracted by others
and do not look back or
look
d
o
w
n
You and I are going to high places together!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.