Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Nails

I wasn't intending to write another meditation but when I realised that the May HeartFreek Photo Challenge for me today was Nails, it reminded me of our Maundy Thursday service at church, at the end of the which we were encouraged to take a nail and remember what it had cost Jesus to be crucified.  

I made the small wooden cross at church a couple of years ago on Good Friday, and it was very difficult to hammer the nails in without realising how much our Lord went through when He died on the cross.  

The painting was done a few years ago by a friend - and again, reminds me of what my Lord and Saviour did for me on the cross.

Nails -
They pierced your flesh
Your blood dripped down
But did I really know how much it cost?

Agony -
You hung there
In excruciating pain
But did I really care how much it cost?

Sin -
It was my sin
That kept you there
But did I really understand why you had to die?

Love -
Your love for me
Was evident as you died in pain;
But three days later
I KNEW why.....
I did care
And I did understand.
You were alive
And so was I!

So as I remember
the nails
the agony
my sin and
your love
I am truly grateful
And give my life to you
Because you gave your life so willingly for me.

MI 15/5/13

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.