Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Heart

I was all set to blip my locket today as the word for the May HeartFreek Photo Challenge is Heart. I don't wear it very often, but as my two sons gave it to me many years ago I thought it would be a good example of a heart and a mother's love etc etc. However, when I looked at the locket, I realised it wasn't heart-shaped at all - so now what?

As I lay in bed thinking, I remembered that about 20 years ago someone - and I still don't know who - had sent me this lovely little teddy bear holding a heart, which had written on it "Jesus Loves You". In all the years that have passed since then, I have NEVER known who sent this to me - and most unusually for me, I have never tried to find out!

Our family was going through a very traumatic time after our younger son had been involved in a serious road accident and when this arrived it was enough for me to know that Jesus loved me. That may sound odd to some people but sometimes in our lives we have to trust that God knows what is best for us and just accept that.

Occasionally, I have wondered who sent me the teddy bear with this message, but I haven't asked anyone and no-one has ever said anything to me about this, and actually it doesn't matter who sent it - all that matters is that I get hold of the fact that whatever happens in my life, Jesus loves me.

Perhaps today someone will be kind to you, bake you a cake, take you out for a coffee, look after your children for a while, do some shopping for you, look after a relative who is ill so that you can have a much-needed break - all these kindnesses are reminders that Jesus loves you.

So now I am giving you a new commandment:
Love each other.
Just as I have loved you,
you should love each other.
John 13:34
New Living Translation

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.