RIP Mumma Betty

Today was Mum’s funeral.  We were up very early as we had to go out to the airport to pick up daughter and son-in-law.  Their flight was early, they were through Customs and Immigration quickly and we had dropped them at their apartment by 7:30am. We returned home and had breakfast, then MrMacD picked some rosemary sprigs to be placed on the coffin after the service.  We were at the church early and the organist was already there checking out the organ and warming up.  I quickly took a photo of Mum’s coffin and the flowers before people started to arrive.

My daughter is the oldest grandchild and was very close to Mum.  She “created” the name Mumma, and all the Auckland grandchildren and great grandchildren called Mum by that name.  One of the great grandchildren always called her Mumma Betty.

It was a beautiful service, the church was packed and Mum was given a great send off.  I was very touched by the fact that one friend from our Tuesday morning walking group and three from our Tuesday night walking group came along.  So very kind and thoughtful of them.  My brother and one of his sons, my daughter and three of my sister’s boys were the pallbearers.  After the hearse had driven away we had refreshments and I tried to catch up with as many people as possible - not an easy task.  Following the refreshments, my cousin had invited us to my uncle’s house just to be together as a family and also to support my uncle who has lost his big sister.  It was a lovely afternoon and I am very grateful to my cousin for her thoughtfulness.

Because of issues at the cemetery, Mum will be buried tomorrow.

Unfortunately, I’m still behind with dipping into blip friends journals, which I really enjoy, but I’ll visit again soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.