Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Reflections

First, thank you so much for all your support and kindness yesterday. It is Mum's birthday tomorrow and two years ago yesterday that Mr T was taken away in an ambulance without me, which was the start of finding out he had had a stroke, and also had dementia. I guess even subconsciously these things have a way of filtering into the brain. Little wins with Dad, as when he phoned last night he said how he'd been impressed with Mr T a couple of days ago when he (Dad) wasn't well. I told him Mr T was aware and understood much more than him and others give him credit for. Clearly noted as the conversation was very swiftly moved on. Baby steps, but in the right direction.

I did some research last night after a conversation with someone from the Alzheimer's Society. Mr T has been quite out of sorts recently and harder to look after as he's time travelling but also quite sleepy. It turns out, unsurprisingly, that the grey winter days exacerbate sundowning. I didn't think he had an infection, and on the sunny days he's much more himself. Today we are trying brighter lights, set to a warm white, and as it starts to get dark(er) to draw the curtains and brighten the lights more so he maybe doesn't want to got to bed at 16:30! I explained this to him this morning and he was happy to give it a try.

My abstract reflections were something I had saved for a rainy day Blip prop. Couldn't decide on mono or colour for main Blip so asked a friend! Colour in the extras and also a quick sketch from yesterday. I'm trying to do this for 5-10 minutes before bed, and have an Insight Timer meditation on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.