a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Alien eggs

It stopped raining, eventually, later on today.  Needless to say after 36 hours of non stop quite heavy rain many of the roads had a lot of standing water on them, and the rivers seem to have uniformly burst their banks.  I was originally intending to take a flood picture, but I rather liked the winter sun peeping through the clouds from the top of the Round Hill near Stowey, looking west towards Bishop Sutton in the Chew Valley.

The Round Hill is not that high - perhaps 160m above sea level, but getting up the muddy track that leads to it, with a torrent of muddy water coming down it, tested my post viral lungs and I had to have several breathers until the coughing fits gave up.  And to think I cycled up Alpe d'Huez only 10 years ago - how are the mighty fallen!

When I finally did get to the top it was blowing a proper hooley and I was glad of both my gloves and the hood on my waterproof.  I managed not to fall over at any stage, despite some really quite interesting muddy slides on the way back, when I began to think that I really should have carried the camera in a bag, rather than on a strap...

... and before you ask, I do not know what causes these small hummocks, which I often see in grazed land.  One suggestion that I have read, is that they develop where there are clumps of vegetation that grazing animals leave alone - eventually resulting in these little tumps. But it might be the Alien's eggs for all I know ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.