Oh Deer!

My kitchen pictures were reflected in the window the opposite end of the room and made an almost double exposure effect...detracts from the dust on the blinds at least! :) 

Came home from work early today as I had to send a message to the plumber last night after we found a little water seeping through the bathroom floorboards.

For two nights in a row himself has heard scratching thinking it was inside and I was sure it was outside. Last night it got particularly loud and about 2am we realised it must be a mouse trapped in the wall behind the toilet! By 4:30am I gave up trying to do anything about it and it went quiet but I decided said creature had probably chewed through a pipe and told the plumber this when I got to work. 

Blessed thing had got in a drain and eaten a 3 inch hole in the main outlet pipe from the loo...feeling very flipping relieved (pardon the pun! that only water had leaked under the floor! 

No sign of any vermin though, no droppings, no other debris...he must have found an escape route...I've laid a trap in case he's tempted though. Next door's cats have already proved themselves useless in this regard! 

He's had to take tiles off and cut out some board as the toilet was fitted by the previous owner who thought it cosmetically more pleasing to enclose the whole cistern etc in tile and marble making it an utter pain whenever I need work doing...which, as he was a DIY bodger, I've needed more than once!

The boiler needs servicing next week so the hole will be made good then after everywhere's dried out a bit.

Another expense I could really do without, but, could have been a lot worse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.