Where’s the weir?

After overnight gales and torrential rain, which continued throughout the day, it’s no surprise that the River Chew is now in flood, along with the River Avon. The railway line between Bristol and Bath is closed due to flooding, and on the edge of town people had to be rescued from their cars caught in floods, making the local news. (More views of the flooded River Chew and underwater foothpaths in the park in extras.)

Thanks to the Amazing K who sat with Dad, I was able to get to my emergency optician appointment this morning. No improvement in my PVD (“big clumpy” floaters, I never do anything delicately!) which explains why I still can’t see properly in one eye. Was delighted to be told it could take months to clear.

By the time I’d battled home in the wind and rain I was soaked to the skin, cold and very tired so gave up on the rest of the day and settled down to watch Mary Poppins Returns. Unlike me, Mary Poppins didn’t have any problems with her umbrella!

Now I need to go and find myself something savoury to eat. I took what I thought was Beetroot Crumble (made by my brother) out of the freezer for my tea, turned out to be Apple and Fig Crumble, but I didn’t discover that until I ate it!

Thank you so much for all your kind words, stars and hearts yesterday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.