BRIANW

By BRIANW

Best Foot Forward, Regent Street, London

Today was my first day back at work for a while and it was quite a shock to have to be up and at 'em by 6 a.m. to be able to catch my rush hour train. It was dark, wet and windy which didn't help matters at all. I was also hit by the huge difference in the price of a return train journey between off peak (£16.60) and commuter peak (£36.80!!!!!). I could call it daylight robbery but it was still bloody pitch dark!
Also, because I'd been away for a few weeks I discovered my computer, monitor and software had all been updated and it was all a bit discombobulating. As is usual with all this kind of technical stuff where I work (the words "in depth staff training" do not exist) I was given a rudimentary ten minute explanation of how it all worked and then had to fend for myself. I must admit I had a mini meltdown to begin with but, eventually, by the end of the day I'd sort of got the hang of it.
Today's image I thought related rather well to the meaning of best foot forward - "to embark on an undertaking with as much effort and determination as possible".
The extra is yet another Soho image but the view towards Carnaby Street really did lift my spirits on such a dreich day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.