Milling around at Euston

Avanti West Coast provided today’s entertainment as I was travelling up to Shropshire this evening for another funeral tomorrow.

The train from Euston was packed as, inevitably, the train before mine and after mine had been cancelled. My reservation was for a window seat with table facing forward. I ended up with an aisle seat, airline facing backwards in a carriage which had been, according to the school staff, reserved for a large group of vulnerable special needs pupils who’d been on a day out in London.

Owing to signalling problems and broken down trains our 1 hour 35 minute journey was over 40 minutes late. Another delay repay claim. Signalling problems is not the fault of Avanti and the broken down train may have been a different operator. There’ll be a lot of claims and counter claims again, as there were on our journey from Edinburgh in early December.

The funeral is of a lad that was in my class at school all those years ago. We played a lot of cricket together in our youth for school and club. He’s the first of my year that I know of who has died.

I’m staying overnight with my cousin who is renown fie going to bed early evening and getting up ridiculously early. She has assured me that my late arrival is not a problem!

Thank you for all your lovely comments about yesterday’s blip of Madison. This time two weeks today we should be somewhere over the mid west of America

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.