My Father

This sculpture was the first one made by Pat. She has gone on to make others under the guidance of Alan Herriot.

It is of my father, Robert Dakers who died 51 years ago today. He died from Bowel Cancer at the Marie Curie Home based at Hill of Tarvit Mansionhouse.

I was 21 and was a student attending The School of Architecture in Dundee.

Today I received a letter from The Scottish Bowel Screening Centre confirming that my latest test showed no further investigation is required.

This test is carried out at home and is straightforward to do. This happens every two years.

I know of two close friends who did not carry out the tests and ended up in hospital for surgery and chemotherapy. Both have recovered but they have been through some difficult times.

The tests would undoubtedly have reduced the surgery required.

It really is in your own hands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.